Designated Benefits Specialists are assigned to employees by first letter of last name. Employees should contact the following Benefits Specialist for assistance with new employee orientation, benefits enrollment, disability or life insurance claims, Family and Medical Leave, retirement, etc.

Employees whose last name begins with:Assigned Benefits ContactTelephone NumberEmail Address
A - CErica Shumate(205) 348-6809eshumate@ua.edu
D - ICresynce Cottrell(205) 348-7099clcottrell@ua.edu
J - OKimberly West(205) 348-5154kewest4@ua.edu
P - ULurethia James(205) 348-3150ljames@ua.edu
V - Z (FMLA & BenefitFocus)Jan Nichols(205) 348-4785jnichols@fa.ua.edu
V - Z (Retirement & LTD)Sandra Abrams(205) 348-7099sabrams@ua.edu

Human Resources Service Center Contact Information
The HR Service Center provides applicants, employees and retirees a convenient location to handle all of their benefits, employment and payroll needs. The HR Service Center is staffed Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m, subject to UA holiday schedules. Please call (205) 348-7732 or email hrsvctr@ua.edu. 


BenefitVendor ContactTelephone NumberWebsite
Medical and DentalBlue Cross and Blue Shield of Alabama1-800-239-5772www.bcbsal.org
Prescription DrugsPrime Therapeutics1-800-391-1886www.alliancerxwp.com
VisionUnitedHealthcare1-800-638-3120www.myuhcvision.com
Flexible Spending Account (Healthcare or Dependent Care FSA)PayFlex1-844-729-3539www.payflex.com
Health Savings Account (HSA)PayFlex1-844-729-3539www.payflex.com
Life, AD&D, Short-Term Disability, Long-Term DisabilityThe Standard1-855-757-4714www.standard.com
Teachers' Retirement System and PEEHIPRetirement Systems of Alabama (RSA)1-877-517-0020www.rsa-al.gov
Voluntary Retirement 403(b) and 457(b)TIAA1-800-842-2252Self-service through myBama
Employee Assistance ProgramUprise Health1-800-925-5327www.uprisehealth.com
Identity Theft ProtectionLifeLock Norton Benefit Premier1-800-607-9174www.lifelock.com